Marrakech airport to the medina, day and night
Bus 19 or a taxi from Menara airport (RAK) to the medina: the figures the tourism council prints, and what is still missing.
With bags, use the taxi rank and agree the fare before anything goes in the boot. The regional tourism council prints 70 MAD by day and 100 MAD at night Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources from the airport to the city centre, and a taxi at any hour Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources.
Bus 19 is printed at 30 MAD Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources, every 20 minutes Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources, from 06:00 to 21:30 Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources.
The airport’s own page still gives no price in dirhams. Ask your riad which gate a car can reach. You walk the last part.
Last updated 21 Oct 2026.
How we checked
The bus fare, the hours and the day and night taxi figures are printed on the council’s English transport page and French transport page, both read on 21 October 2026. The English page adds p.m. after the evening time. The French page writes that same evening time counting on from midnight.
The council page still calls the city bus network ALSA. News articles describe a later change of operator and do not print a dirham fare. Those articles sit under Still being checked.
The airport operator’s taxi and bus pages, read on 20 October 2026, name a bus interval and no price in dirhams. Nothing here was seen at the airport.
At a glance
The council pages print dirham figures. The airport’s own taxi and bus pages do not. Read both, then use the board at the rank for the ride you are actually offered.
| Detail | Bus 19 | Taxi | Ride app |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fare | 30 MAD Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources | 70 MAD by day and 100 MAD at night Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources | Not yet confirmed |
| When it runs | 06:00 to 21:30 Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources, every 20 minutes Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources | at any hour Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources | Not yet confirmed |
| Journey time | Not yet confirmed | Not yet confirmed | Not yet confirmed |
| Where it leaves | Not yet confirmed | A taxi station on the esplanade Source-checked 20 Oct 2026 Sources | Not yet confirmed |
| Paying | Not yet confirmed | Card or cash at a desk, in a 2023 announcement Source-checked 20 Oct 2026 Sources | Not yet confirmed |
Step by step
Which airport, and how far
Both presentation pages give the code RAK Source-checked 20 Oct 2026 Sources. The French airport page places it 3 km from the city centre Source-checked 20 Oct 2026 Sources. The council’s transport pages also place it 3 kilometres from the centre Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources. The English airport page does not give a distance. None of these pages says that the city centre is Jemaa el-Fna.
The airport bus
The council pages print bus 19 Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources at 30 MAD Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources, every 20 minutes Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources, between 06:00 and 21:30 Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources. They do not name the stop or who sells the ticket.
The airport’s own taxi and bus pages, in both languages, describe one bus between the city and the airport, every 20 minutes Source-checked 20 Oct 2026 Sources. They do not name the line, the stop, the price, or a first or last departure. Those pages are undated apart from a copyright line.
On the wider city network, the same council pages print 4 MAD Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources a trip, and they still call that network ALSA. That is a different ride from bus 19. Do not pay the city fare for the airport bus, or the other way around, until you have seen which bus you are boarding.
Who runs the buses now is reported in the press, not on a timetable those pages link. Supratours, an ONCF subsidiary, reported as starting city buses on 14 December 2025, after ALSA Unconfirmed Sources. A later article said Marrakech Mobility had told the paper the takeover had happened toward the end of that December, and that a gazette text of 15 December 2025 Unconfirmed Sources authorised SGTUPM, a company held by ONCF and Supratours Unconfirmed Sources, to manage the network. No fare in dirhams, and no airport line number, in those articles Unconfirmed Sources. One of them said fares then in force kept until the end of the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations Unconfirmed Sources, with changes already decided to follow. It did not state either price.
Supratours’ own site is an intercity coach planner, not a city or airport bus timetable Source-checked 20 Oct 2026 Sources.
Our advice: if you take the bus, pay the way the stop tells you to. After the last printed departure, do not count on another one until you have seen that day’s board.
A taxi from the rank
The council pages print 70 MAD by day and 100 MAD at night Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources and say a taxi is at any hour Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources. They do not say the fare is for the whole car, or what luggage is included. The city centre in that sentence is not a named gate.
The airport’s page puts a taxi station on the esplanade and says destination fares are displayed at the taxi parking. It does not print the amounts. The board has not been read for this guide. A taxi fare is added to the fare log only once it has been written down at the rank.
Set the council’s figure beside the board. If they differ, the board is the price you are being asked to pay that day. Agree it before the bags go in.
Separately, ONDA published a news item on 12 May 2023 Source-checked 20 Oct 2026 Sources. A desk at the arrivals exit: pay by card or cash before the ride, then scan a receipt for a ticket with your taxi number Source-checked 20 Oct 2026 Sources. The announcement says those fares are a flat amount for the destination, set by the competent authorities, and that the computer system runs 24 hours a day, 7 days a week Source-checked 20 Oct 2026 Sources. It gives no amount. It says signs after baggage claim lead to the desk. The taxi and bus page does not mention this desk, and an English version of the news item was not found. That the desk is still there has not been confirmed.
Our advice: do it in this order:
- Walk past offers of a ride inside the terminal.
- Follow the signs to the desk or the rank, and read the posted fare for your destination before you agree.
- If there is a desk, pay there and keep the receipt.
- Name the gate your riad gave you, not only the name of the house.
- Carry dirhams as well as a card. Whether a foreign card works at the desk at night is not yet confirmed.
Phrases, if you need them:
- Le tarif affiché pour cette destination, s’il vous plaît. The posted fare for this destination, please.
- من فضلك، ما الثمن المكتوب لهذه الوجهة؟ The same question in Arabic.
A ride app
Uber’s newsroom, in English and in French, says the app is offered in Marrakech and Casablanca, only with licensed transport vehicles, as UberX and UberXL Unconfirmed Sources. Neither page says whether a car may collect a rider at Menara Unconfirmed Sources. Whether an app can pick up at the terminal is not yet confirmed.
Morocco’s Ministry of Transport has been reported as saying that carrying paying passengers without a transport licence, or in a private car, is an offence Unconfirmed Sources.
Our advice: for a first arrival, the rank is the simpler choice until pickup at the terminal is confirmed. If you do request a car, use the pickup point the app shows, and check that the vehicle is a licensed taxi or transport vehicle before you get in.
From the gate to the door
There is no sourced list here of medina gates a car can use, or a walking time from any gate to a door.
Our advice: before you fly, ask your accommodation which gate a car should use, and whether someone can meet you there if you land late. The same questions are on the Marrakech guide.
The edge case
Landing late
Bus 19 is printed as running until 21:30 Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources. The airport page gives no first or last bus of its own. The desk announcement describes a system running 24 hours a day, 7 days a week Source-checked 20 Oct 2026 Sources. The council pages say a taxi is at any hour Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources. The taxi and bus page does not say the rank itself runs all night.
Our advice: if you might land after the last printed bus, plan on the rank, or on a pickup your accommodation has put in writing, including what happens if the flight is late. The airport’s exchange page lists counters in the public hall and gives no opening hours Source-checked 20 Oct 2026 Sources. Whether those counters, or the cash machines, are open at night is not yet confirmed. Get dirhams before you leave the terminal if you can.
A full car, or a door the car cannot reach
Our advice: before any bag goes in, ask whether your group and your luggage fit in one car, and what the posted fare includes. If the riad is inside the medina, the fare on the board may end at a gate. The walk from that gate is part of the journey.
What to watch for
Our advice: these habits avoid most surprises:
- Offers inside the terminal. The fare to compare is the one posted at the rank or charged at the desk.
- A price that is not on the list. Ask to see it on the list before you agree.
- Settling the price once you are moving. Agree it before the car leaves.
- A stop that is not the gate you named. Show the gate name you were given. A car that stops short of that gate is a different journey.
- The city-bus price on the airport bus. The council prints 4 MAD Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources for the city network and 30 MAD Official figure, checked 21 Oct 2026 Sources for bus 19. They are different rides.
- Large notes. Carry smaller notes. Change can be hard to find.
- A site that sells the ride. Menara’s transport pages are on onda.ma. A page that sells a transfer is a seller.
Still being checked
Not yet confirmed, so not stated as fact on this page:
- The stop for bus 19, who sells the ticket, and whether a return ticket exists.
- Whether the council’s printed bus fare is the fare charged now. The pages still name ALSA. The press account of Supratours and SGTUPM does not print a dirham fare. The gazette text those articles cite was not opened.
- The amounts on the taxi board, by destination, and whether they match the council’s day and night figures. Whether that fare is for the whole car, and what it includes for luggage.
- Whether the taxi desk in the May 2023 news item is still at the arrivals exit.
- Whether a ride app can pick up at the terminal, and from which door. Uber’s own pages do not say.
- The ministry sentence on carrying paying passengers without a transport licence is a press report. The ministry page itself was not the source read here.
- How long a bus or a car takes to reach Jemaa el-Fna.
- Which medina gates a car can use, and the walk from each one.
- Whether exchange counters and cash machines in arrivals are open at night.
Next on your route.
Each guide covers one step of the journey.
Sources for this page
Every fact on this page shows when it was checked and links here to its source. What the badges mean.
- Taxi figure the tourism council prints for Menara airport: Visit Marrakech, Visit Marrakech, page 2. Reviewed 21 Oct 2026.
- Marrakech airport bus 19 on the regional tourism council site: Visit Marrakech, Visit Marrakech, page 2. Reviewed 21 Oct 2026.
- Marrakech airport taxi rank and bus: ONDA, ONDA, page 2. Reviewed 20 Oct 2026.
- Marrakech airport taxi desk announcement: ONDA. Reviewed 20 Oct 2026.
- Marrakech Menara airport code and distance: ONDA, ONDA, page 2. Reviewed 20 Oct 2026.
- City bus fare printed on the tourism council site: Visit Marrakech, Visit Marrakech, page 2. Reviewed 21 Oct 2026.
- Marrakech city buses, operator reported in the press: Médias24, Médias24, page 2, Médias24, page 3. Reviewed 20 Oct 2026.
- Supratours website and Marrakech city buses: Supratours. Reviewed 20 Oct 2026.
- Uber’s own account of Marrakech and Casablanca: UBER, UBER, page 2. Reviewed 20 Oct 2026.
- Ride apps and the law: TelQuel, Médias24, H24info. Reviewed 30 Sep 2026.
- Marrakech airport exchange counters: ONDA, ONDA, page 2. Reviewed 20 Oct 2026.